Dobarsko is a mountain village situated at 1070 m. above the sea level. It is in Razlog district and is situated 80 km. south Blagoevgrad and 17 km. from the winter resort Bansko. It is nestled at the south foot of the holy Rila mountains and overlooks the endless horizons of the pearl of Bulgarian mountains Pirin and the wide Rodopi mountains.
In addition to the heavenly nature one can enjoy:
- Fresh air and tradition organic food
- Studying and taking part in old traditions, rituals, and songs
- Fishing trout in three mountain rivers
- Picking mushrooms and herbs
- Horse riding
- Mountain walking - Rila Monastry, Dobarsko hostel, Ezernik peak, Seven Rila lakes, Semkovo ski resort, Semkovo Bear Village, etc.
In a historical document Dobarsko is mentioned for the first time in Tsar Shishman’s Rila Decree from 1378. Dobarsko is the most economically developed settlement in Razlog valley until the end of 18 century, when Bansko outgrows it. The huge amount of cattle bred in its beautiful pastures was brought south to Seres and Drama in the winter where the Dobarsko tradesmen exported wool to Bosnia, Serbia, Austria and Hungary.
A legend tells that founders of this marvelous place at the south foot of the holy Rila Mountains were the blinded soldiers from Tsar Samuil’s army who couldn’t get to the Rila monastery as the winter came too early. The historical fact is: Tsar Samuil's army was defeated in battle at Belassitsa Mountain in 1014 by the Byzantine Emperor Basil 11, whose nickname was Bulgarochthonos (the “Bulgar-Slayer”).
Basil 11 took most of the Bulgarian army prisoner, blinded the soldiers, and sent the men back to the Tsar leaving one one-eyed man to lead the blind men. The soldiers had their reasons to choose the location of the village of Dobarsko - water with healing powers that springs in the churchyard of St. Theodor Tiron and Theodor Stratilat church.
The church of St. Teodor Tiron i Teodor Stratilat /1614/. The three-decker church from 17 century is half dug into the ground as the builders didn’t want to attract Ottoman authorities’ attention. The beautifully preserved murals of the church depict scenes from Jesus Christ’s life. The ancient church is an unique sanctuary and is in UNESCO’s World heritage list.
Dobarsko Renaissance Church Sretenie Gospodne /1860 /is still functional. It has richly decorated iconostasis made by artists from Bansko School. In this beautiful area of untouched nature there are eight consecrated grounds. In one of them /500 m. from the village/ was rebuilt the church of Uspenie Presveta Bogoroditsa.
Blagoevgrad bus station: tel. +359 73/84009
Razlog bus station: tel. +359 747/80240
- Blagoevgrad – Razlog:
6.20 h., 7h., 9 h., 11 h., 12 h., 12.55 h., 14.40 h., 15.20 h., 16 h., 16.50 h., 18 h., 19 h.
- Razlog – Dobarsko:
7.30 h., 8.35 h., 10.35 h., 12.35 h., 14.30 h., 17.30 h., 19.20 h.
Dobarsko Association - tel.: (073) 832 539, (0888) 45 54 15,